>Ode To The Faces (At Least I Got To Hang Out With You)


>by CJ Coolsen

Verse–

Alabama, was where you used to throw your hat on the floor

You’re too capricious, for a world in pieces

when the Kaiser’s got an arm in the door

Here comes the boy with aspirations

living off the fountain of youth

We skip to Times Square, short hair, New Year’s party

drinkin’ from a champagne flute

Chorus–

What a Sign of the Times

It’s great to be alive, kickin’ out the old for the new

The last to arrive, ’cause all the people inside

always see the day as a small price to pay

And if this ever gets boring, I’ll just take a bow and burn it out

But if you ever went crazy, I might die

I don’t know what I’d do, but at least I could say

I got to hang out with you

At least I got to hang out with you

Verse–

Trip Fantastic, a proclamation for the state that we’re in

I’m superstitious, but it’s so delicious

when you’re drownin’ in a bathtub of gin

So now I’m reachin’ up to heaven, and I’m flippin’ off the Lordy

and I’m never gonna stop, well at least ’til 1940

Then we take the A train across the ocean

until the end of this revolution

Bridge–

Don’t write down anything I can live without

But where’s my protection when you scream and shout

And how’d we come to the Great White Hunter

everything that could put us under

Can you remember when it used to be sugar and spice

on This Side of Paradise

Verse–

Culture babies, we used to break the rules on a whim

The Great Depression is the word in session

for the nation goin’ out on a limb

And now the fat cats, in top hats, are messin’ with my money

and all we did was dance the Lindy, well I guess it’s pretty funny

So I’ll take it in the way I do, as long as I still have you

Chorus–

What a Sign of the Times

It’s great to be alive, kickin’ out the old for the new

The last to arrive, ’cause all the people inside

always see the day as a small price to pay

And if this ever gets boring, I’ll just take a bow and burn it out

And if we ever went crazy, we’ll just fade away

But at least they could say

I got to hang out with you

At least I got to hang out with you

Sittin’ in a cafe, I think we finally landed

and we’re talkin’ ’bout the freedom that we used to take for granted

’cause we’re strangers in a foreign land,

where all the people sing:

OO LA LA

OO LA LA LA LA

OO LA LA

OO LA LA LA LA

Liftin’ up the hemlines, bullets on St. Valentines

Chaplin on the big screen, Time has got a magazine

Nazis in the beer hall, hopin’ for the big fall

Jazz in the backroom, jammin’ out the new boom

Calvin’s keepin’ quiet, while the Klan is at the Hyatt

And the women that we’re goting, gettin’ sick of never voting

If you’re taken what is given, you could lose your inhibitions

But it really doesn’t matter,

OH MY GOD, IT’S PROHIBITION!!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

