“Darling” he says, “we might survive.”


Wow.  It is absolutely heart-wrenching to cast a show when everyone is amazing and so passionate about the material.

We cast In Trousers tonight.  I am so excited for this project.  I can’t even begin to say.  I got to sing a bunch of stuff as we met with music directors. Even sick, it is such a joy for me to produce these notes and lyrics and emotions.  I’ve forgotten how cathartic it feels to develop a character, particularly one who is going through the worst things in her life.  Actually, one of the MD’s coached me on something that almost made me cry out of self recognition. Instead it gave me chills to discover what was already there.  And I get to do this for the next month!

Things are really really good.

Headed home this weekend for Fulton auditions.  I love my life!

I met a man in the can, wouldn’t you know he was going my way.
We talked till four, he talked more, I was afraid I’d turn and say:
Love me for what I am, not what I try to be
Love me for what I am
I am someone imperfectly me.

The lights were low, don’t you know he gave a phony home address
Then after weeks, guess who speaks, “Darling” he says, and I say “Yes,
Love me for what I am, not what I try to be
Love me for what I am, I am
A person who likes to lie too much
I try too much to impress other people
Often my inferiors.
Could you like a girl like that?
Could you like a girl like that?
Could you hold her in your arms?
Could you like a girl like that?
Could you like a girl like that?
Could you like a girl like that?

I lay in bed, he plays dead, I play a recent forty-five
He turns it low, talks so slow, “Darling” he says, “We might survive.”
Love me for what I am, not what I try to me
Love me for what I am, I am
Someone imperfectly me.
Someone imperfectly me.
Me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

