I’d rather be sailing on an open sea.


Well, isn’t this just so much fun?

Japonais New York is closing.  On Sunday.  When did the employees get notice? Officially, on Tuesday.  Actually, on Monday. Seven days notice.  There were signs, of course, paychecks bouncing, investors meeting with potential new investors, more paychecks bouncing.  But, truly we believed we would get a decent notice.  Two weeks would have been ok.

I’ve worked for this company for a year.  Exactly.  I liked the restaurant for what it was.  It was flexible, it was easy, I love my co-workers, my boss supported my performing career, the food was great. I always said it would be my last restaurant job.

And it will be.

I am so glad to have my nights and weekends back.  I’m not sure what I’m going to do yet.  Something administrative, probably.  I had a great interview at the New York Film Academy yesterday.  I’m meeting with a temp office today.  I don’t have the stamina to work freelance right now, so I’m not going to focus on that.  It’s kind of refreshing to decide not to do something…

The thing I’m most worried about is the show.  I usually provide half the cost to produce my shows out of my own pocket.  And I will.  Probably, before I pay my rent and other necessary expenses, the show will be paid for.  (If by chance, you read this and we are not friends on Facebook, you can go here to make a tax-deductible donation to the show.)

That said, things will be ok.  I’m going to apply for unemployment on Monday morning.  I’m going to continue searching for the right position for me to have the life I want.  I am going to seriously consider leaving New York (though, odds are good, I won’t leave). And, I’m going to apply for the Arts Management Fellowship I’ve been talking about.  I’m going back to my list of things that make me happy. There are a lot of them.  Especially lately.

Even in the dark, life is good.  (Sometimes, especially in the dark, life is good.)

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “I’d rather be sailing on an open sea.

  1. Mom

    I think this is definitely a case of a door closing and a window opening. Sometimes it seems like we need a swift kick to make us look at ALL of our options. I’m glad to hear that you are applying for the Fellowship.

Leave a Reply

